Skip to content

Barefoot Living

September 16, 2011

People who have known me from past lives and yet haven’t seen me for the last seven years might wonder why I’ve chosen to live a barefoot life.

I used to explain all the health things I was dealing with seven years ago – hip bursitis that was nearly killing me, walking with a cane, shooting pain in my left leg.

Now I just plain prefer it. All those health reasons are still valid, but I’ve grown so accustomed to it, I can’t imagine going back to wearing shoes all the time.

What do I prefer?

I prefer walking through the grass and earth to walking on hard pavement in closed up shoes.

I prefer letting my feet feel the sunshine and fresh air to keeping them bound up in shoes and socks.

I prefer the strong feet I’ve developed compared to the limp pasty toes I used to have.

I prefer the sense of connection I feel to my environment that living barefoot gives me.

There was a saying I picked up when I first started barefooting (from another person who’s been barefooting a lot longer than me). He wrote: “Free your feet and your mind will follow.” I have certainly found this to be true.

While I am more confident about my own person and faith than ever, I think being barefoot has opened my mind to a lot more of life itself.

I am more tolerant of those who look and dress differently (because I now dress differently, too).

I am more tolerant of those whom society rejects, because I have been rejected by stores, restaurants, other individuals. There are few things more embarassing than being asked to leave a place simply because you’re barefoot. (Such a disturbance of the peace :-)!)

I am more open to those who are doubted and scoffed – nothing seems to bring out scoffers like trapseing around in bare feet.

I am more sympathetic to those who have no heat in winter because, when I am barefoot in snow it is tolerable (I go barefoot year ’round), but optional. There are many people in this world for whom a cold winter is not an option.

I used to flinch when I thought someone was going to confront me about my bare feet. Now I simply listen to them, acknowledge their opinion, and go on. No sense in creating a scene over something as innocent as going barefoot.

Being barefoot has become part of who I am. And that’s pretty much what I like about it 🙂

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Bob Neinast permalink

    Yay! Great explanation.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. This Ability « Ahcuah

Leave a Reply

