Skip to content

… and your mind will follow

May 2, 2012

How can I better sense the world around me?

What can I do to be more aware of the natural world?

What harm can all the chemicals we put on lawns and gardens do to people?

How does it feel to be freezing cold and unable to find warmth?

I say I share the planet with all Creation, but am I really aware of the smallest creatures?

How can such a simple action be interpreted as anti-social or rude?

How do people really act when you defy convention?

How do people treat those who are perceived to be misfits?

Why do I get such simple enjoyment from something so easy?

When medicines fail, are there alternatives that work just as well?

If I can do something good for myself that doesn’t harm others, why not?

Why do strangers feel they have the right to tell others what to do?

Do I look silly? Does it really matter?

What really is appropriate to wear to Church and work?

What is the difference between feeling cold and being cold?

If you see the crippling effects of certain behaviors, why would you do the same thing?

Image

Free your feet…

I can better sense the world around me by touching it with my hands and my feet, by seeing the things I feel, by hearing the things I sense.

I can be more aware of the natural world by passing through it the way nature does, softly, quietly, shoelessly.

The chemicals we put on lawns and gardens can and do cause contact harm to people, pets, butterflies, toads, and all the things I want living in my yard and garden. They even put signs out to not walk on the grass. I don’t use chemicals in nature and barely use them otherwise…

To be freezing cold and unable to find warmth is the real life experience of the poorest people of northern Asia in Mongolia. If they can, they dig holes near large hot water pipes to generate some heat. I have little complain about with a few minutes out barefoot… I remember these poor ones whom Jesus loves when I feel the cold.

I say I share the planet with all Creation, so I become aware of the smallest creatures, feeling them with my feet before crushing them with my weight.

A simple action, like going barefoot, can be interpreted as anti-social or rude by those whose idea of society is uniformity and conformity. I find that those who are least socially aware – children, the simple, and the devout – are rarely ruffled by anti-social behavior. 🙂

People really act mean when you defy convention. It is insulting and embarassing enough to be asked to leave a store or other place because you’re barefoot. A lot of people seem to find pleasure in making a big deal about it. It’s a power trip. They can keep their ‘power’.

People treat those who are perceived to be misfits at arms length. There are times when I think people would be more comfortable with me carrying a gun than my being barefoot. We don’t embrace the different – we mistrust them. We don’t ask why they are different – we judge them.

I get such simple enjoyment from something so easy because it is really so simple. I don’t worry about what shoes go with my pants. I don’t spend a dime on fancy shoes. I don’t have to look for my shoes – they’re always in the car.

When medicines fail, there are alternatives that work just as well. I had a bad hip.I had special exercises, a cordizone shot, more pain killers, and was left with a cane and a limp. After three days barefoot, I was better. There are other alternatives that work just as well. I’m open to them more because it works for me.

I can do something good for myself  – going barefoot. It doesn’t harm others. There’s no second-hand effect, no impaired operation, no flashbacks, no side effects. Just plain old barefooting.

Strangers feel they have the right to tell others what to do because we’re curious about each other and awkward with each other. If we can make others more like us, we’re a lot more comfortable. Everyone does it… conservatives, liberals, religious, non-religious. It’s just as simple to leave others alone and respect them for who they are.

I do look silly sometimes – even I think so. Does it really matter? Not in the least. Why should I care what anyone else thinks of me? I’m comfortable with myself, even enough to like myself when even I think I look silly.

It is appropriate to wear things to Church that honor God and to be mindful of the sensitivities of others. If I am drawing attention to myself, whether I’m barefoot or dressed to the nines, I am inappropriate. At work, I submit to my authorities as unto the Lord. Where I need to wear shoes, I do. Where I don’t, I don’t.

There is a big difference between feeling cold and being cold. Everyone should try it and find out for themselves.

I see the crippling effects of wearing shoes every day. There are men and women in ‘sensible shoes’ trying to amend years of pinching toes in toe boxes, squeezing them into pointy pumps, encasing them in leather traps, and limping along with socially proscribed disasters on their feet. Why would I do the same thing? There is no good reason.

Image

Free your feet and your mind will follow.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. That’s a lot of thinking for a walk… it must have been a long one! And you’re right, barefoot is better!

    • I do think a lot on my walks – almost too much 🙂 It was just a 1.5 miles (a looonnngg walk in Roann 🙂 and it really helps me clear out my head.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Following « Ahcuah

Leave a Reply

